Mohican Sailing Club

Charles Mill Lake

2019 Calendar and Dinner/Race

Committee Assignments

The activities of Mohican Sailing Club include weekly one-design sailboat racing, carry in dinners, several regional regattas and holiday picnics on Memorial Day, Independence Day and Labor Day.  Typically, events begin about the first of May and continue through late October.

The Club’s main activity day is Sunday.  People start gathering and rigging boats after Noon, with races scheduled to start at 2:00.  A social hour and debrief from follows racing.  The bell rings to start cooking dinner at 5:00. Dinner committee instructions can be found here. Detailed race committee instructions are found here.

A detailed calendar for the season is typically posted in April and is subject to change, so please check back often.

Visit our membership and lessons page to find our membership application, dues schedule, and information regarding sailing lessons.  We hope to see you often this summer.

MEMBERS:  Please contact us about days you are willing to serve as either Dinner or Race committee.  Simply send an email to the club email account:  mohicansailing@gmail.com and we’ll update the calendar!

2019 MSC Calendar – updated 6/23/19

Date Event Time Dinner
Committee Assignment
Race Committee  Assignment
Sat April 27 Work Day 9:00 a.m.  n/a n/a
Sun April 28 Dock Day 8:00 a.m. – Dock Crew

9:00 a.m. – everyone else

12:30 p.m.  – Lunch and Spring Membership meeting

 n/a n/a
Sat-Sun May 4-5 Scout Campout S. Wills n/a n/a
Sun May 5 Brush Racing 1:30 start  on your own
Sun May 12 Brush Racing 1:30 start  on your own
Sun May 19 Brush Racing 1:30 start  on your own
Sat-Sun May 25 – 26 Jet 14 Mohican Chiefs Regatta see www.jet14.com for details  n/a set by regatta chair
Mon. May 27 Memorial DayFirst Potluck Dinner Sunfish/Fun Race
1:30 StartDinner 4:30 p.m.
Paul and Carol D.
Sun June 2 Summer Racing 1:30 start
potluck 4:30
Joann W.
Sun June 9 Summer Racing 1:30 start
potluck 4:30
Jim and Janet H.
Wed June 12 Sailing Lessons at the Club 6:00-8:00 p.m. n/a
Sun June 16 Summer Racing 1:30 start
potluck 4:30
Mike and Mary F,
Wed June 19 Sailing Lessons at the Club 6:00 – 8:00 p.m. n/a
Sat June 22 Private Member Event Murr n/a n/a
Sun June 23 Summer Racing 1:30 start
potluck 4:30
Laura G.
Wed June 26 Sailing Lessons at the Club 6:00 – 8:00 p.m. n/a
Sun June 30 Summer Racing 1:30 start
potluck 4:30
Bill and Lynn S.
Thu July 4 Independence Day no scheduled activities on your own
Sun July 7 Sunday Brunch

Summer Racing

10-11:30 – Brunch

1:30 start

4:300 potluck

Brunch – Paul and Carol D.

Potluck – Stewart and Heather F.G.

Sun July 14 Summer Racing 10-11:30 Brunch

1:30 start

4:30 potluck

Brunch – Sandra B.

Potluck – Mark and Marilyn G.

Sun July 21 Summer Racing 1:30 start

4:30 potluck

Keegan H.
Sun July 28 Summer Racing 1:30 start

4:30 potluck

Patty S. and Soren B.
Sun Aug 4 Family Fun Day Schedule details TBA – brunch, waterslide, fun sailing, kayaking, potluck. Paul and Carol D.
Sun Aug 11 Summer Racing 10-11:30 Brunch

1:30 start

4:30 potluck

Brunch – Sandra B.

Potluck – Erwin and Susan R.

Sat Aug 17 Private Member Event Noon – 8 p.m. – Ilhamy W. sponsor n/a n/a
Sun Aug 18 Brown Jug w/ Mansfield SC at Mansfield SC start TBA (usually 11-noon, arrive 10 a.m.)potluck following racing set by Mansfield SC – no event at Mohican set by Mansfield SC – no event at Mohican
Sun Aug 25 Summer Racing 1:30 start
potluck 4:30
Ilhamy W.
Sat Aug 31 Charles Mill Lake Fireworks Party barge leaves the dock at 9:00 contact Tom Wills for reservations
Sept TBA Clambake! TBA
Sun Sep 2 Summer Racing

Last Potluck Dinner

1:30 start

4:30 potluck

Mon Sep 2 Labor Day Sunfish Fall Colors Regatta 2:00 start on your own
Sun Sep 8 Fall Racing 10-11:30 Brunch Sandra B.
Sat Sep 14 Interlake Haphazard Regatta see Interlakesailing.org for details set by regatta chair set by regatta chair
Sun Sep 15 Fall Racing
Wed Sept 18 Optimist Board meeting/Dinner 5pm -8 pm
Sat Sep 21 Contra Dance 7:00 –

10:00 p.m.

n/a n/a
Sun Sep 22 Fall Racing
Sat Sep 28 Clambake!!
Sun Sep 29 Fall Racing
Sun Oct 6 Fall Racing
Sat-Sun Oct 12-13 Jet14 Halloween Classic Regatta see www.jet14.com for details set by regatta chair set by regatta chair
Sat Oct 19 Work Day 9:00 pull poles, clean up around clubhouse n/a n/a
Sun Oct 20 Undock Day 8:00 start for dock crew

Lunch and Fall membership meeting 12:30

n/a n/a
Sat Oct 26 Landfall Gala Banquet Save the date – Invitations to come via snail mail. n/a n/a