Mohican Sailing Club
Charles Mill Lake


2018 Calendar and Dinner Committee Assignments

The activities of Mohican Sailing Club include weekly one-design sailboat racing, carry in dinners, several regional regattas and holiday picnics on Memorial Day, Independence Day and Labor Day.  Typically, events begin about the first of May and continue through late October.

The Club’s main activity day is Sunday.  People start gathering and rigging boats after Noon, with races scheduled to start at 2:00.  A social hour and debrief from follows racing.  The bell rings to start cooking dinner at 5:00. Dinner committee instructions can be found HERE. Detailed race committee instructions are found here.

A detailed calendar for the season is typically posted in April and is subject to change, so please check back often.

Visit our membership and lessons page to find our membership application, dues schedule, and information regarding sailing lessons.  We hope to see you often this summer.

MEMBERS:  Please contact us about days you are willing to serve as either Dinner or Race committee.  Simply send and email to the club email account:  mohicansailing@gmail.com and we’ll update the calendar!

2018 MSC Calendar – updated 4/29/18

Date Event Time Dinner
Committee Assignment
Race Committee  Assignment
Sat April 21 Work Day 9:00 a.m.  n/a
Sat April 28 Work Day 9:00 a.m.  n/a
Sun April 29 Dock Day 8:00 a.m. – Dock Crew

12:30 p.m.  – Lunch and Spring Membership meeting

 n/a
Sat May 5 AED Training 10:00 – 11:00 a.m.  n/a
Sun May 6 Brush Racing 2:00 start  on your own
Sun May 13 Brush Racing 2:00 start  on your own
Tue May 15 Sailing Lessons Local Roots, Wooster – see lessons page for details  n/a
Sun May 20 Brush Racing 2:00 start  on your own
Tue May 22 Sailing Lessons Local Roots, Wooster – see lessons page for detail  n/a
Wed May 23 Sailing Lessons On the water at the club – see lessons page for details  n/a
Sat-Sun May 26 – 27 Jet 14 Mohican Chiefs Regatta see www.jet14.com for details  n/a
Mon. May 28 Memorial Day

First Potluck Dinner

Sailing Class – On the Water

Sunfish/Fun Race
2:00 StartDinner 5:00 p.m.

Sun June 3 Summer Racing 2:00 start,

potluck 5:00

Mike and Jon C. Mike C.
Sun June 10 Summer Racing 2:00 start

potluck 5:00

Barb J.
Sun June 17 Summer Racing 2:00 start

potluck 5:00

Mark & Marilyn G.
Sun June 24 Summer Racing 2:00 start

Potluck 5:00

Heather & Stewart FG
Sun July 1 Summer Racing 2:00 start

5:00 potluck

Bill S.
Wed July 4 Independence Day no scheduled activities on your own
Sat July 7 Charles Mill Lake Fireworks Sunfish/Fun Race 2:00 start

Potluck 5:00

Fireworks: Dusk – approx 9:45.  Boats leave the club dock about 9:00 p.m.

Mike and Mary F.
Sun July 8 Summer Racing 2:00 start

5:00 potlu

on your own
Sun July 15 Summer Racing 2:00 start

5:00 potluck

Paul and Carol D.
Sun July 22 Summer Racing 2:00 start

5:00 potluck

Jim and Janet H.
Sat, July 28 Private Member Event – Joe Murr TBD none
Sun July 29 Summer Racing 2:00 start

5:00 potluck

Gary R & Karen K
Sun Aug 5 Summer Racing 2:00 start

5:00 potluck

Erwin and Susan R. Erwin R.
Sun Aug 12 Summer Racing 2:00 start

5:00 potluck

Sun Aug 19 Summer Racing 2:00 start

5:00 potluck

Fri, Aug 24 Private Member Event – Scott Stanford 5:30-11 p.m. None
Sun Aug 26 Brown Jug w/ Mansfield SC at Mohican SC start TBA

potluck following racing

Sun Sep 2 Summer Racing

Last Potluck Dinner

2:00 start for racing, 5:00 bell rings for dinner Ilhamy and Darlene W.
Mon Sep 3 Labor Day Sunfish Fall Colors Regatta 2:00 start on your own
Sat Sep 15 Contra Dance 7:00 p.m. none
Sat Sep 22 Interlake Haphazard Regatta see Interlakesailing.org for details
Sat-Sun Oct 13-14 Jet14 Halloween Classic Regatta see www.jet14.com for details
Sun Oct 21 Undock Day 8:00 start for dock crew

Lunch and Fall membership meeting 12:30

Sat Nov 3 Landfall Gala Banquet Save the date – Invitations to come via snail mail.